Deborah L. Rhode Award

An annual award presented by the following AALS Sections:

Section on Leadership, Section on Pro Bono & Service Opportunities, Section on Professional Responsibility, and Section on Women in Legal Education.

Award Description:

This award honors the contributions, service, and leadership of Deborah Rhode by recognizing a new trailblazer in legal education and the legal profession. The award is given annually by four Sections of the Association of American Law Schools in which Deborah Rhode made an indelible impact—Section on Leadership, Section on Pro Bono & Service Opportunities, Section on Professional Responsibility, and Section on Women in Legal Education. The award is given to a legal academic or lawyer who exemplifies the groundbreaking work, imagination, and inspired action of Deborah Rhode during her career. The recipient is someone who has great potential to make a mark during their career as evidenced by work that brings a novel perspective or call for action in legal education or the legal profession.

The recipient shall be selected by the Deborah L. Rhode Award Committee comprised of the chairs of the four Sections.

Award Eligibility:

- Nomination deadline is September 30, 2023, 3:00 am EST.
- Nominees can be a law professor or a lawyer.
- Nomination letters (no longer than 5 pages) may be accompanied by no more than three letters of support.
- Nomination letters should address why the nominee fits the description of a "new trailblazer" in legal education and the legal profession (as outlined in the award description, above).
- Optimally, the nomination and letters of support will be submitted together as one PDF.
- Submit Nominations Here: <u>https://aalsweb.wufoo.com/forms/svb6vz51wu8hwh/</u>

Selection Committee:

Chair of the Section on Leadership; **April Barton** (Duquesne University Thomas R. Kline School of Law) Co-Chair of the Section on Pro Bono and Access to Justice; **Eliza Vorenberg** (Roger Williams University School of Law), Chair of the Section on Professional Responsibility; **Sande Buhai** (Loyola Law School, Los Angeles), and Chair of the Section on Women in Legal Education; **Victoria Haneman** (Creighton University School of Law)