Call for Papers and Commentators

New Scholarship in EU Law

AALS Section on European Law AALS Annual Meeting, 3.00-4:40pm, Wednesday, January 3, 2024

The AALS Section on European Law is pleased to announce a Call for Papers for its *New Scholarship in European Union Law* panel. The session will be held on Wednesday, January 3, 2024, from 3-4:40 p.m. (EST) in Washington, DC. The workshop will bring together up to four authors and senior European law scholars for the purpose of giving participating authors constructive feedback on their scholarship and helping them prepare their work for submission for publication.

Format: Each author will be paired with a senior scholar who will comment on the paper presented. Presentations will be followed by oral comments and, as time permits, further discussion. Senior commentators will be prepared to offer constructive comments at the session and are strongly encouraged to also provide them in writing to the participating author.

Submission procedure: Authors who are interested in participating in the program should send an abstract (or longer summary) or draft-in-progress to the Chair of the Section on European Law (Tracy Kaye, at <u>tracy.kaye@shu.edu</u>) by September 1, 2023. The cover email should state the author's institution, academic status, number of years in current position, and any previous positions in academia. Submitted papers must be "in progress" as of the time of the 2024 Annual Meeting (a paper accepted for publication but still undergoing revision is considered "in progress"). The subject line of the email should read: "Submission—AALS EU Program 2024." Scholars whose papers are selected for the program will need to submit their draft paper to the Section Chair by December 12, 2023, in order that the assigned commenters will have sufficient time to read the drafts prior to the Annual Meeting. The authors of the accepted papers will be notified by September 20, 2023.

Eligibility: All European Law scholars. Junior and emerging scholars (pre-tenure or teaching for eight or fewer years) are especially encouraged and eligible to submit their papers.

Senior scholars interested in serving as commentators: please email Tracy Kaye at <u>tracy.kaye@shu.edu</u> by September 1, 2023. Thank you in advance for your generosity.

On behalf of the Section on European Law Chair: Tracy A. Kaye, Seton Hall University School of Law Chair-Elect: Paul Linden-Retek, University at Buffalo School of Law Secretary: Irene Calboli, Texas A&M School of Law Executive Committee Members: Kristen Barnes, Syracuse University College of Law Francesca Bignami, The George Washington University Law School Daniela Caruso, Boston University School of Law Peter L. Lindseth, University of Connecticut School of Law Fernanda Giorgia Nicola, American University, Washington College of Law Vlad Perju, Boston College Law School Paolo Saguato, George Mason University, Antonin Scalia Law School Kim Lane Scheppele, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs Panagiotis T. Tridimas, The Pennsylvania State University – Penn State Law